Committee on Coding and Reimbursement

Committee Charges

  • To monitor, analyze, influence and disseminate information about coding and reimbursement policies and procedures that affect nuclear medicine; to actively participate in the development of coding and the use of coding that supports the utilization of nuclear medicine procedures in medical practice, such as CPT, ICD-10, HCPCS codes and APCs; to establish a working dialogue with regulators, particularly HCFA, and payers to effect change.
  • Conduct coding and reimbursement seminars.
  • Participate in AMA CPT, RUC and PEAC process to obtain appropriate codes, procedure descriptions and reimbursement rates for new and existing nuclear medicine procedures.
  • Work with NMAPC Task Force and others to obtain appropriate reimbursement for all nuclear medicine resources, including radiopharmaceuticals, under the APC system.
  • Work with CMS, Congress and local carriers and other medical intermediaries to ensure that appropriate nuclear medicine procedures are available to and attainable by the public.
  • Create Policy Documents.


Committee Members

Scott C. Bartley, MD Chairperson
Gary L. Dillehay, MD,FACNM,FACR,FSNMMI Vice-Chairperson
Lee P. Adler, MD Committee Member
KG Bennet, MD, FACNM Committee Member
Terence Beven, MD, FACNM Committee Member
Sharmila Dorbala, MD Committee Member
Wayne E. Dunkle, CNMT, ARRT(R),(N) Committee Member
Darlene M. Fink-Bennett, MD, FACNM Committee Member
Munir Ghesani, MD, FACNM, FACR Committee Member
Erin Grady, MD, CCD, FACNM Committee Member
Stephen A. Graves, PhD, DABR Committee Member
Eric Hu, MD, ABNM Committee Member
Alan H. Maurer, MD, FSNMMI Committee Member
Lalitha Ramanna, MD, FACNM Committee Member
Lynne T. Roy, MBA, CNMT, FSNMMI-TS Committee Member
Ali Salavati, MD, MPH Committee Member
John P. Seitz, MD Committee Member
Akash Sharma, MD, MBA Committee Member
Barry A. Siegel, MD, FSNMMI, FACNM Committee Member
Ruth Tesar, CNMT Committee Member
William A. Van Decker, MD Committee Member
Janice D. Van Dolsen, BHS, RT(N), CNMT Committee Member