SNMMI Hosts Successful Capitol Hill Day, Winning New Congressional Interest

October 24, 2019


On Tuesday, October 22, SNMMI members from all across the country came to Washington, DC, to advocate for nuclear medicine and molecular imaging. The Capitol Hill visits resulted in strong interest from several new congressional offices.

Participants were organized into teams—each including technologists, physicians, researchers, and patients—that visited specific congressional offices. In all, the teams participated in more than 50 meetings, educating congressional representatives and staff about the importance of nuclear medicine and molecular imaging.

The teams expressed their support for H.R. 3772, the Medicare Diagnostic Radiopharmaceutical Payment Equity Act of 2019. This act would extend equitable reimbursement for approved PET agents and thereby stimulate development of new diagnostic radiopharmaceuticals.

These issues are critical as we approach January 2020, when reimbursement of two important radiopharmaceuticals—68Ga-DOTATATE and 18F-fluciclovine—will be bundled, resulting in inequitable reimbursement compared to the past 3 years. A third radiopharmaceutical, 18F-florbetapir, is scheduled to be bundled later in 2020.

The teams also focused on communicating:

  • the value of nuclear medicine, and how it is different from other modalities
  • the need to ensure that patients have access to lifesaving diagnostic tools
  • the need to ensure a viable domestic supply of Mo-99

We need your help.

Please act today: Send a letter of support for H.R. 3772 to your member of Congress. Below you will find a list of resources for sending in a letter of support for H.R. 3772.

 For more information on SNMMI's efforts on H.R. 3772, click here.


Congressman Larry Bucshon (R-IN) with SNMMI members and staff. From left: David Dick, PhD; SNMMI President Vasken Dilsizian, MD; Larry Bucshon, MD; Sara Gibbons; Sukhjeet Ahuja, MD; Dalton Clark; Karin Brough


Outside the office of Senator Richard Shelby (R-AL), from left: Bonnie Clarke, Buddy Jessup, Shannon Youngblood, Loukisha Collins


From left: Giuseppe Esposito, MD; Dmitry Beyder; Tricia Peters; Rep. Salud Carbajal (D-CA); Linda Budzinski, Nancy McDonald


 Courtney Lawhn Heath, MD, and Josh Mailman outside the Capitol building