Michael E. Phelps, Ph.D., receives SNMMI 2015 Georg Charles de Hevesy Nuclear Pioneer Award

June 7, 2015

Michael E. Phelps, PhD, the Norton Simon professor and chair of the University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA), Department of Molecular & Medical Pharmacology, has been named this year's recipient of the Georg Charles de Hevesy Nuclear Pioneer Award for his contributions to nuclear medicine. Phelps was presented the award by SNMMI—an international scientific and medical organization—during its 2015 Annual Meeting, June 6-10 in Baltimore, Md.

Phelps has been affiliated with UCLA since 1976 and is actively engaged in medical research, educational programs and multimedia technologies at the university. In addition to serving as the chair of the Department of Molecular and Medical Pharmacology and as the Norton Simon Professor, Phelps is director of the Crump Institute for Molecular Imaging, professor of biomathematics and director of the Institute for Molecular Medicine.

Full Story