The Radiopharmaceutical Sciences Council is made up of members of the SNMMI who have a common interest in the radiopharmaceutical sciences. It has been set up for the purpose of providing a forum to; discuss and disseminate information relating to radiopharmaceutical sciences, promote and encourage basic research and applied technology in the radiopharmaceutical sciences, and provide the SNMMI information relating to the radiopharmaceutical sciences.

The mission of the Radiopharmaceutical Sciences Council is to: provide a forum for members with similar interests; provide expertise in the field of interest to the membership; foster education in research and application of radiopharmaceutical sciences; provide outreach to other professionals and organizations; nurture new membership into the Society and the Council and serve as a resource to SNMMI Leadership.

The Radiopharmaceutical Sciences Council encourages all professionals within SNMMI to consider being members, as your input is needed to help promote and develop the many aspects of the Radiopharmaceutical Sciences.


Interested in becoming a sponsor for the 2023 Poster Mixer

Learn More About the Benefits of Sponsorship HERE.  

Mike Nickels, PhD



The Radiopharmaceutical Sciences Council offers several different awards to recognize individuals within the field who have made significant contributions to radiopharmaceutical sciences. The following awards are offered on a yearly basis by the council:

NEW: Sally W. Schwarz Award for Outstanding Contribution in Radiopharmacy - The Sally W. Schwarz Award was created as a means of recognizing individuals who have made an outstanding contribution to the field of radiopharmacy. This contribution can be in the form of radiopharmaceutical development, production and/or translation of radiopharmaceuticals for nuclear medicine and molecular imaging, and/or significant contributions to the regulatory oversight of radiopharmaceutical supply and administration, and/or in the mentoring and education of the next generation of radiopharmacists. The Sally W. Schwarz Award carries with it an award of $1,000 supported by the Radiopharmaceutical Sciences Council. Learn more about the Sally W. Schwarz Award for Outstanding Contribution in Radiopharmacy.

Berson Yalow Award - This award honors investigators who submit the most original scientific abstracts and make the most significant contributions to basic or clinical radioassay. Learn more about the Berson Yalow Award.

Michael J. Welch Award - The Michael J. Welch award is awarded to an individual who has made outstanding contributions to radiopharmaceutical sciences, has been involved in mentoring students, Postdoctoral fellows, and junior faculty, and has been involved in community service community service to the field of radiopharmaceutical chemistry and molecular imaging. Learn more about the Michael J. Welch Award.

Michael J. Welch Post-Doctoral Travel Award - This award recognizes an outstanding abstract by a young investigator in the area of radiochemistry.  The award amount and whether it is given out will be contingent on receiving funding from the Michael J. Welch Foundation. Learn more about the Michael J. Welch Post-Doctoral Travel Award.  

Young Investigator Awards - The RPSCYIA's are reserved for the best scientific abstracts on radiopharmaceutical chemistry nuclear medicine submitted by young investigators.  Learn more about the RPSC Young Investigator Awards.

The Society recognizes the need for sub-specialty interests/expertise within the field of nuclear medicine and moleuclar imaging. Councils provide the expertise, professional networking and educational programs for nuclear medicine professionals in respective areas and serve as a resource for development and implementatin of Society policies.

Council membership is voluntary. Councils adhere to Society Bylaws and policies, while operating under its own Operating Procedures, as approved by the House of Delegates, and its own business plan and budget, as approved by the SNMMI Board of Directors.

This secion provides the following council specific information.

RPSC Board of Directors
RPSC Operating Procedures
RPSC Business Plan
RPSC Council Reports to the House of Delegates
RPSC Past Presidents

RPSC 2013 Session

How to Become a Member
Membership in the Radiopharmaceutical Sciences Council is limited to members of the SNMMI. Membership can be attained by indicating the desire to join during the annual renewal of the SNMMI membership or by filing an application with the Secretary of the council.

Payment of Dues
Membership in the RPSC requires payment of dues in the amount of $20/year. Dues are paid to SNMMI and will be due on October 1st of each year.

Benefits of Membership:
Membership makes you a part of a professional group within the SNMMI that:

Provides continuing education for professionals in the various areas relating to Radiopharmaceutical Sciences through sponsored symposia and continuing education courses. Each year the RPSC puts on a Categorical Seminar or symposia, and Continuing Education Courses on topics of interest to professionals in the Radiopharmaceutical Sciences.

Provides a forum and a mechanism for discussion and dissemination of information relating to the Radiopharmaceutical Sciences. The RPSC members receive periodic Newsletters and electronic mailings containing information on professional activities, government issues, and a host of other topics related to the Radiopharmaceutical Sciences. Members will soon have access to RPSC Web pages, which will contain timely and archived information relating to a variety of topics in the Radiopharmaceutical Sciences.

Provides expertise in the Radiopharmaceutical Sciences to SNMMI leadership and to groups outside of SNMMI seeking such expertise. The RPSC has representation in a number of governance groups within SNMMI, including the Committee on Councils and the House of Delegates.

Learn more about the specific benefits the RPSC council has to offer by emailing






RPSC Announcements

2023 SNMMI Mid-Winter and ACNM Annual Meeting

January 26-28, 2023 | San Francisco, CA

The 2023 SNMMI Mid-Winter and ACNM Annual Meeting—January 26-28 in San Francisco, CA—will feature three educational tracks highlighting the latest innovations and techniques in the field, including a dedicated track on neuroimaging.

Now Open: ACNM invites you to submit an original clinical or scientific abstract for the opportunity to present your research during the 2023 SNMMI Mid-Winter and ACNM Annual Meeting.

Meeting website 

RPSC CE Session

Emerging Developments in Theragnostics: Featuring Young Investigators (co-sponsored with CMIIT)
Saturday, January 28, 4:00 – 6:00 pm

Join This Council

Council membership is voluntary. Society members are eligible for council membership, and can belong to as many councils as they wish. The Radiopharmaceutical Sciences Council dues are $20.00. Join this council now

Learn more about the Radiopharmaceutical Sciences Council member benefits.

2022 RPSC/CMIIT Poster Mixer


We would like to thank our sponsors! 

Radiopharmaceutical Sciences Council Activities

2023 RPSC Mid-Winter Meeting CE Sessions

Emerging Developments in Theragnostics: Featuring Young Investigators (co-sponsored with CMIIT)
Saturday, January 28, 4:00 – 6:00 pm