Kuhl-Lassen Award

The highest award of SNMMI's Brain Imaging Council was created to honor two founding pioneers in functional brain imaging: SNMMI member David E. Kuhl, M.D., and Nils Lassen. The Kuhl-Lassen Award is given annually to recognize a scientist who has made outstanding contributions and whose research in and service to the discipline of functional brain imaging is of the highest caliber.

The 2022 Kuhl-Lassen Award Winner Gil Rabinovici, MD

Dr. Rabinovici is the Edward Fein and Pearl Landrith Distinguished Professor in the University of California San Francisco (UCSF) Departments of Neurology, Radiology & Biomedical Imaging. He received his BS degree from Stanford University and MD from Northwestern University Medical School. He completed neurology residency (and chief residency) at UCSF and a behavioral neurology fellowship at the UCSF Memory and Aging Center. Dr. Rabinovici’s work investigates how structural, functional and molecular brain imaging techniques can be used to improve diagnostic accuracy in dementia and to study the biology of neurodegenerative diseases, with the goal of accelerating drug development. He is Co-Director of the NIH-funded UCSF Alzheimer’s Disease Research Center, study chair of the Imaging Dementia-Evidence for Amyloid Scanning (IDEAS) and New IDEAS studies (~25,000 total participants) and PI on several national and local clinical, imaging and translational studies focused on AD and related disorders. Dr. Rabinovici’s research is supported by NIH, Alzheimer’s Association, American College of Radiology, Rainwater Charitable Foundation, Shenandoah Foundation and industry partners. Previous awards include the 2015 Christopher Clark Award in Amyloid Imaging, the 2012 American Academy of Neurology Research Award in Geriatric Neurology and the 2010 deLeon Prize from the Alzheimer’s Association.

Gil Rabinovici, MD


                            Previous Kuhl-Lassen Award Winners