Kuhl-Lassen Award

The highest award of SNMMI's Brain Imaging Council was created to honor two founding pioneers in functional brain imaging: SNMMI member David E. Kuhl, M.D., and Nils Lassen. The Kuhl-Lassen Award is given annually to recognize a scientist who has made outstanding contributions and whose research in and service to the discipline of functional brain imaging is of the highest caliber.

The 2019 Kuhl-Lassen Award Winner Alexander E. Drzezga, MD

Alexander Drzezga studied medicine at the Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München and the Technische Universität München, Munich, Germany (TUM). He obtained his medical license in 1998 and received his doctorate in the same year. Since 2003 he is board examined in Nuclear Medicine and since 2005 he has been Assistant Professor for Nuclear Medicine at the Department of Nuclear Medicine of the TUM. In 2009, he moved to the Athinoula A. Martinos Center for Biological Imaging, Harvard University, Boston, USA as a visiting professor. In 2011, he received a "Heisenberg Professorship" for Multimodal Imaging at TUM. Since 2012 Alexander Drzezga has been full Professor, Chair in Nuclear Medicine and Director of the Department of Nuclear Medicine at the University Hospital of Cologne at the University of Cologne. Since 2014 he has been affiliated with the DZNE (German Center for Neurodegenerative Disease) and since 2018 he has also been Director of the Institute of Neurosciences and Medicine, Molecular Organization of the Brain (INM-2) at Forschungszentrum Jülich. His research focuses on the application of molecular and multimodal neuroimaging (PET/CT, MRI, fMRI, PET/MR) in the investigation of neurodegenerative diseases (e.g. Alzheimer's disease) and ageing. In addition, the research of brain networks and their role in brain health and disease is in the focus of his scientific interest, as are resistance mechanisms of the brain such as cognitive reserve. Finally, the development, evaluation and translation of novel tracers/radiopharmaceuticals are an important focus, as are imaging for therapy monitoring in oncology and novel radionuclide therapies.



        Victor Villemagne, MD, (left) presents the award to Alexander Drzezga, MD (right)


                            Previous Kuhl-Lassen Award Winners