2020 Saul Hertz, MD Award Winner: Douglas Van Nostrand, MD

The Saul Hertz, MD Award is a lifetime achievement award, recognizing individuals who have made outstanding contributions to radionuclide therapy.  

In 2020, the award was presented to Douglas Van Nostrand, MD. Dr. Van Nostrand is the Director Nuclear Medicine Research, MedStar Research Institute and MedStar Washington Hospital Center. He has won numerous awards including: United States Air Force Commendations Medal; Fellow American College of Physicians; "A" Professional Designator Award, USA; United States Army Meritorious Service Medal; Fellow American College of Nuclear Physicians; Mentor of the Year Award by the America College of Nuclear Medicine, and the MedStar Washington Hospital Center Department of Medicine; the Barbara and Wm. James Howard Award for Outstanding Academic Achievement; the 2016 Thyroid Cancer Survivors’ Association, Inc. (ThyCa) Annual Achievement Award; The 2017 Ninth Annual Howard Kay Award, and the Light of Life Foundation’s 2017 Exemplary Work in Thyroid Cancer award.   

He has been actively involved in thyroid cancer diagnosis and treatment for over 40 years.  He has published more than 200+ articles and 10 books including the 3rd edition of the 1000+ page medical textbook entitled, Thyroid Cancer:  A Comprehensive Guide to Clinical Management edited by L Wartofsky and D Van Nostrand, and three editions of the book entitled Thyroid Cancer: A Guide for Patients edited by D Van Nostrand, L Wartofsky, G Bloom, and Di Wu, and the third edition is being translated into Chinese and Albanian.  His major area of research is differentiated thyroid cancer and nuclear medicine.  He lectures and presents on radioiodine imaging and therapy of differentiated thyroid cancer at many facilities, locally, regionally, nationally, and internationally.

Douglas Van Nostrand, MD













Dr. Baum, second from the left, receiving the 2019 Saul Hertz, MD Award