PIDSC Young Investigator Award

SNMMI symposium and competition, in association with the Computer and Instrumentation Council, for the best scientific abstracts on computer and instrumentation nuclear medicine. The objectives of the award are to identify promising young investigators working in computer and instrumentation nuclear medicine. To be considered, submitting authors must check the designated box (Consider for YI award?) during their online abstract submissions for the SNMMI Annual Meeting.

Only abstracts submitted to categories within the Instrumentation & Data Analysis track will be considered for the ERF PIDSC Young Investigator Award Symposium.

  • All applicants must be currently enrolled or within five (5) years of a completed certified training program.
  • All former first prize winners are ineligible.
  • Abstracts must be submitted to one of the instrumentation & data analysis track.
  • All applicants must choose "Oral" as the Presentation Type.

Monetary prizes are offered for the above award in the following amounts:

  • 1st Prize:  $500
  • 2nd Prize: $300
  • 3rd Prize: $200


2021 PIDSC Young Investigator Award Winners

First Place

Design study of a high-resolution and ultrahigh-sensitivity brain SPECT system for imaging medically intractable epilepsy  

First author: Elena Maria Zannoni 

Second Place

Data-driven motion compensation using cGAN for total-body [18F]FDG-PET imaging 

First author: Lalith K. Shiyam Sundar 

Third Place

36-to-1 Multiplexing with Prism-PET for High Resolution TOF-DOI PET  

First author: Andy LaBella

Honorable Mention

Super-resolution in brain PET Using a Real Time Motion Capture System

First author: Yanis Chemli

Unsupervised background removal by dual-modality PET/CT guidance: application to PSMA imaging of metastases  

First author: Ivan S. Klyuzhin

Pre-selecting radiomic features based on their robustness to changes in imaging properties of multicentre data: impact on predictive modelling performance compared to ComBat harmonization of all available features  

First author: Da-ano Ronrick

Self-supervised Bone Scan Denoising   

First author: Si Young Yie



Past PIDSC Young Investigator Award Winners