Nuclear Medicine Technologist Requirements by Jurisdiction

In 2021, members of the Technologist Advocacy Group (TAG Team) shared the requirements of being a nuclear medicine technologist in their state. For state-specific information, click below. For a map of  states/jurisdictions requiring licensure, please click here. You can find your state's SNMMI-TS representative here. For all other inquires, contact the SNMMI health policy team at

Alabama Illinois Montana Puerto Rico
Alaska Indiana Nebraska Rhode Island
Arizona Iowa Nevada South Carolina
Arkansas Kansas New Hampshire  South Dakota
California Kentucky New Jersey Tennessee
Colorado Louisiana  New Mexico Texas
Connecticut Maine New York Utah
Delaware Maryland  North Carolina Vermont 
District of Columbia Massachusetts North Dakota Virginia
Florida Michigan Ohio Washington
Georgia Minnesota Oklahoma West Virginia
Hawaii Mississippi  Oregon Wisconsin
Idaho Missouri Pennsylvania  Wyoming