At Annual Meeting, SNMMI Recognizes New Fellows for Distinguished Service

June 12, 2017

DENVER, Colo. (Embargoed until 9:30 AM MT, June 12, 2017) – The Society of Nuclear Medicine and Molecular Imaging recognized seven new SNMMI Fellows during a Special Plenary Session at the society’s 2017Annual Meeting, held June 10-14 in Denver, Colorado. The SNMMI Fellowship was established last year to recognize distinguished service to the society as well as exceptional achievement in the field of nuclear medicine and molecular imaging. It is one of the most prestigious formal recognitions available to long-time SNMMI members.

All past SNMMI presidents were granted Fellowship at the 2016 Annual Meeting. Now, 2016-17 SNMMI President Sally W. Schwarz, MS, RPh, BCNP, FAPhA, has joined their ranks. She is professor of radiology, director of PET Radiopharmaceutical Production and co-director of the Cyclotron Facility at Washington University School of Medicine, St. Louis, Missouri.

Also recognized as SNMMI Fellows this year are

James Adelstein, MD, PhD, Paul C. Cabot Professor of Medical Biophysics (emeritus), Harvard Medical School, Boston, Massachusetts;

Patrick M. Colletti, MD, professor of radiology, medicine, biokinesiology, and pharmaceutical sciences, Keck School of Medicine, University of Southern California, Los Angeles, California;

Diwakar M. Jain, MD, professor of cardiovascular medicine and director of nuclear cardiology, New York Medical College, Westchester Medical Center, Valhalla, New York;

John W. Keyes, MD, professor of radiology emeritus, Wake Forest University Bowman Gray School of Medicine, Winston-Salem, North Carolina;

Christopher J. Palestro, MD, professor of radiology, Hofstra Northwell School of Medicine, Hofstra University, Hempstead, New York, and chief of nuclear medicine and molecular imaging at Northwell Health; and   

Andrew T. Taylor, Jr., MD, professor of radiology and imaging sciences, Emory University School of Medicine, Atlanta, Georgia.

PHOTO CAPTION: SNMMI President Ben Greenspan, MD, MS, FACNM, FACR, (far left) is pictured with the new Fellows (left to right) Patrick Colletti, MD, FACNM, FSNMMI; Diwakar Jain, MD, FSNMMI; John Keyes, MD, FSNMMI; Christopher Palestro, MD, FSNMMI; Andrew Taylor, MD, FSNMMI; and Sally Schwarz, MS, RPh, BCNP, FAPha, FSNMMI. Not present: S. James Adelstein, MD, PhD, FSNMMI. 

Selection of SNMMI Fellows is based on documented excellence in volunteer service to the society and at least one of the additional three areas: excellence in scientific discovery and innovation; educational efforts in nuclear medicine and molecular imaging; or clinical practice of nuclear medicine and molecular imaging. SNMMI Fellowship is recognized with the designation FSNMMI. 



About the Society of Nuclear Medicine and Molecular Imaging
The Society of Nuclear Medicine and Molecular Imaging (SNMMI) is an international scientific and medical organization dedicated to raising public awareness about nuclear medicine and molecular imaging, a vital element of today’s medical practice that adds an additional dimension to diagnosis, changing the way common and devastating diseases are understood and treated and helping provide patients with the best health care possible.

SNMMI’s more than 17,000 members set the standard for molecular imaging and nuclear medicine practice by creating guidelines, sharing information through journals and meetings and leading advocacy on key issues that affect molecular imaging and therapy research and practice. For more information, visit