2017 Saul Hertz, MD Award Winner: George Sgouros, PhD

The Saul Hertz, MD Award is a lifetime achievement award, recognizing individuals who have made outstanding contributions to radionuclide therapy.  

In 2017, the award was presented to George Sgouros, PhD, professor of radiology, oncology and radiation oncology, as well as director of the Radiopharmaceutical Dosimetry Section of the Division of Nuclear Medicine, at Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine in Baltimore, Maryland. Sgouros, who chairs SNMMI’s Medical Internal Radionuclide Dose (MIRD) Committee, gave a presentation on "Radiopharmaceutical Therapy: Current Status and Future Prospects" at the society’s annual meeting. The focus of his research is on modeling and dosimetry of internally administered radionuclides with particular emphasis on patient-specific dosimetry, alpha-particle dosimetry and mathematical modeling of radionuclide therapy. His lab is currently engaged in pre-clinical research investigating targeted alpha-emitter therapy of metastatic cancer and clinical research examining the impact of patient-specific treatment planning on treatment outcome.

Sgouros has authored more than 140 peer-reviewed articles, as well as review articles and several book chapters. He has served as chair of the Dosimetry & Radiobiology Panel at a Department of Energy Workshop on alpha-emitters in medical therapy and, in the early 90s, he provided the physics/dosimetry support for the first FDA-approved human trial of targeted alpha-emitter therapy.

He is a member of the International Commission on Radiation Units and Measurements’ Report Committee on “Bioeffect Modeling and Equieffective Dose Concepts in Radiation Therapy” and chair of Report Committee 31 on “Treatment Planning for Radiopharmaceutical Therapy.” Sgouros is also a member of the Scientific Committee of the IAEA/WHO Network of Secondary Standards Dosimetry Laboratories and a member of the National Council on Radiological Protection and Measurements. He is the current chair of the National Institutes of Health Study Section on Radiation Therapeutics and Biology.


Saul Hertz Award, 2017