2015 Hermann Blumgart Award Winner

The Cardiovascular Council (CVC) of the Society of Nuclear Medicine and Molecular Imaging would like to congratulate Robert J. Gropler, MD as the 2015 recipient of the Hermann Blumgart Award.

The Hermann Blumgart Award is the highest award and honor bestowed by the Cardiovascular Council.  The election by the Board of Directors of the CVC is based on criteria of both scientific contributions to the field of cardiovascular  nuclear medicine and service to the Council.

2015 Hermann Blumgart Award Group Picture


Pictured right to left: Vasken Dilsizian, MD, CVC Immediate Past President, Robert J. Gropler, MD, 2015 Hermann Blumgart Award Winner; Prem Soman, MD, PhD, CVC President; Mehran M. Sadeghi, MD, CVC Past President.



2015 CVC Blumgart Award Winner Robert Gropler

Robert J. Gropler, MD, presents the 2015 Hermann Blumgart Award Lecture "Cardiovascular Nuclear Medicine at the Vanguard of Precision Medicine in Cardiovascular Disease."



Dr. Robert J. Gropler is a professor of Radiology, Medicine and Biomedical Engineering at the Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis, Missouri.  He serves as the Director of both the Division of Radiological Sciences and the Cardiovascular Imaging Laboratory at Mallinckrodt Institute of Radiology.  Dr. Gropler is a graduate of the University of Cincinnati College of Medicine.  He completed his residency in Internal Medicine at Northwestern University where he served an additional year as Chief Medical Resident.  Dr. Gropler also completed a Cardiology Fellowship at Loyola University Stritch School of Medicine followed by a two-year Research Fellowship at the Mallinckrodt Institute of Radiology.