Edward J. Hoffman Award

This award was established to honor the memory of Professor Edward J. Hoffman. It recognizes nuclear medicine imaging scientists/engineers who have made outstanding contributions in the research, development, lab-to-clinic translation, and clinical use of nuclear medicine instrumentation, algorithms, and computer code and who have made outstanding contributions to the education of nuclear medicine scientists/engineers and physicians in training.

The recipient of the Edward J. Hoffman Memorial Award will receive a plaque and check for $500, and will have the privilege of delivering a presentation at the Edward J. Hoffman Memorial CE session to be held at the SNMMI Annual Meeting.

The 2021 Hoffman Award was presented to Ramsey Badawi, PhD., Chief of the Division of Nuclear Medicine, UC, Davis Medical Center, Sacramento. He is receiving the award for contributions to the Development of PET Instrumentation, Quantitative Methods, and Education of the Next Generation of Scientists.

Ramsey Badawi, PhD




Previous Hoffman Award Winners

2020 - Dimitris Visvikis, PhD

2019 - Georges N. El Fakhri, PhD, FSNMMI

2018-Eric C. Frey, PhD

2017-Frederik Beekman, PhD

2016- Irene Buvat, PhD

2015 -Benjamin M. W. Tsui, Ph.D.

2014 -Ronald J. Jaszczak, PhD

2013 -Tom K. Lewellen, PhD

2012 - Paul E. Kinahan, PhD

2011 - Michel Defrise, PhD

2010 - Grant T. Gullberg, PhD

2009 - Richard E. Carson, PhD

2008 - Bruce H. Hasegawa, PhD

2007 - Joel S. Karp, PhD

2006 - Michael A. King, PhD

2005 - Simon R. Cherry, PhD