2015-2016 ACNM Lifetime Achievement Award

Henry Royal Receives 2015-2016 ACNM Lifetime Achievement Award

Dr. Royal is a professor of radiology at Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis, MO and the Associate Director of Nuclear Medicine at the Mallinckrodt Institute of Radiology. He did his Internal Medicine training at Brown University in Providence RI and his nuclear medicine training at Harvard University in Boston, MA. He was a member of the American Board of Nuclear Medicine from 1993 to 1999 and served as its executive director from 2004 to 2014. He was president of the Society of Nuclear Medicine from 2003 to 2004.

He has been listed in “Best Doctors in America” since the first edition in 1992.

He was the co-team leader of the health effects section of the IAEA's International Chernobyl Project and a member of the Presidential Advisory Committee on Human Radiation Experiments. He has been a member of several National Academy of Sciences committees including the Committee on an Assessment of CDC Radiation Studies, the Committee on Guidelines for Thyroid Cancer Screening After Exposure to Radioactive Iodine Fallout and the Committee on Public Health Implications of Exposure to I-131 From Nevada Atomic Bomb Tests. He also was a member of the Board of Directors of the National Council on Radiation Protection and Measurements from 2000-2005. He was a member of the US delegation to the United Nations Scientific Committee on the Effects of Atomic Radiation (UNSCEAR) from 2002 to 2005.

He was the chairman of the NCRPs Scientific Committee entitled "Radiation Effects on the Thyroid". In addition, he was the scientific chair of the Veterans’ Advisory Committee on Environmental Hazards from 2001 to 2010.

Jack Slosky Receives 2015-2016 ACNM Lifetime Achievement Award

After 10 years in academic research and teaching in Poland, Brazil and the USA and with a track record of numerous chemical/radiochemical articles published in leading chemical journals, Jack was hired by New England Nuclear Corporation (NEN) in Boston where he distinguished himself during 35 years of work in R&D, marketing, strategic reimbursement, governmental relations and professional relations. For example, in early 1980s Jack led two teams of DuPont chemists (DuPont acquired NEN in 1981) that successfully developed the active ingredients and process chemistry for Cardiolite (sestamibi) and Jack was awarded two patents in that area.

Subsequently, in late 1980s and in 1990s, Jack pioneered reimbursement support for Nuclear Medicine physicians and technologists offering Nuclear Medicine procedures to patients. Jack’s efforts were also crucial in bringing focus on strategic reimbursement and healthcare policy to industry groups such as CORAR, NMIA-NA and MICAA, and in working very successfully with medical societies to built such coalitions as “SPECT Project” and “Nuclear Medicine APC Task Force” to successfully advocate with HCFA/CMS for appropriate Medicare reimbursement (coding, coverage and payment) for Nuclear Medicine procedures and products. For his accomplishments Jack received several highest awards from DuPont, BMS (Bristol Myers Squibb) and Lantheus Medical Imaging (subsequent owners of the original NEN radiopharmaceutical business). Jack also received high awards and honors from several medical societies. For example, in 2004 Jack was named “Man of the Year” by ACNP. He was also elected as the Fellow of ACNP, ACNM and ASNC. Following his retirement at the end of 2013 Jack continues to consult and to be very active in ACNM, SNMMI and other medical societies and in industry groups such as CORAR.